Dr. Mom L. Campbell “Attorney” at Law

For a while now there has been a storm hovering over our family. Waiting anxiously to burst from the seams of the cumulonimbus are various raindrops of hatred and emotional lightning bolts that would fry the most grounded person. One tremendous raindrop (or perhaps this man deserves his very own thunder cloud) is a man who has been married to my mother for the past 8.5 years. His reign over my mother has just about killed her and us alike.

Well, today that thunderstorm comes to an end. The clouds have broken, the rain has ceased and peaking through the wilted and beaten leaves of the trees is a beautiful golden sun. Today, on the birth date of my youngest sister, my Mom was Dr. Mom L. Campbell Attorney at law. Because this man has stripped her of everything that has or had, she was forced to represent herself in court. Initially, when mom asked us to attend court with her this morning, my sister Abby and I decided the only way we would be in attendance is if we were allowed to wear shirts that said TEAM GAIL on the front and under that WHAT DO WE WANT? and on the back of the shirt HALF OF YOUR 401K.  I imagine it to look something like this:

your front design                                 your back design

Unfortunately that was deemed inappropriate. So instead, we got up this morning, put on our professional-looking clothing and headed into the court room in support of Lawyer Mom.

When we showed up to the court house, I was stunned to see what her soon-to-be ex was wearing, although I shouldn’t have been. There is a movie named “The Devil Wears Prada”; I’ve never actually seen the movie, but I can assure you of this much—the devil in fact does NOT wear Prada. He wears thrift store straight leg jeans with orthopedic tennis shoes and his lawyer wears a tacky tweed skirt in a size that is less than becoming. (You would think as much as he had to pay her she’d be able to afford a skirt in the right size.)

As I sat in the court room this morning behind what we learned was “the bar”—The Devil’s lawyer graciously informed us that the bar was the separation between where “lay people” sat and where the lawyers sat—I silently prayed. I prayed for strength for my mother, I prayed for peace in the court room, and I prayed for comfort for my family. Consistently I repeated “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”, and then a variation of the same verse “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength”.

I don’t know what the final outcome of the court case will be, but I know two things today without a doubt.

1.- This too shall pass.- My mother will officially be divorced no matter what the outcome.
2.- Abby and I should have made and worn those shirts. If the Devil showed up in straight legs and orthopedic shoes, surly we could have gotten away with a little supportive athletic wear.

Anything You Want To Share?

