I Confess

Adventures in crazy. Legitimately I think at some point I’m going to have to realize that I am part of the problem. The Boss would be proud of me, I am about to confess some “unconfessed” (NOT A WORD) sin in my life.

I can take responsibility for my issues:

1. I don’t like to be told what to do, ESPECIALLY when I feel like, or have predetermined that the person telling me what to do is somehow less educated or less intelligent than I am. Perhaps this is a common thing among humans, or maybe I am a self righteous disgusting human being. I’m not sure, but what I do know is that this is a truth about me.

2. When things get stressful I am quick to freak out, cause myself way more anxiety than necessary and quit.

3. I let issues go unresolved, bottle several things up and then, generally it takes one thing (related or unrelated) to shove me over the edge.

I have a kind spirit, I am easily approachable and I am very quick to accept people for exactly how they are. I believe this makes me a target. I am taken advantage of, I am misinterpreted for being overly easy going. I really don’t know what to make of it, but what I do know is that today everything came to a head.

I received a text message from The Boss stating that she would be late. If you know me or have happened to read through the last several posts I’ve made, you’ll know this isn’t out of the ordinary. I responded to her message saying that I would be at the office when she got there. When I show up to work another co-worker informs me that she has a message from The Boss. She is going to be VERY late, and the materials that I need to complete my job aren’t in the office. She continues with, “So you have two choices: work with me on the floor, or leave and make up your hours another day.” My job isn’t in the store. I’ve never worked in the store. I didn’t take the job to work in the store. More to the point–IT SHOULDN’T HAVE TO HAPPEN BECAUSE MY BOSS SHOULD BE AT WORK. Period.

Unbelievable.

She had already messaged me. Why not tell me how late she was going to be? Either way…remember earlier when I mentioned I let things bottle up and then it takes a small issue to send me right over the deep end, well HERE IT IS. I told my coworker I would make up my hours. I drove to the temp agency (I should have mentioned before that this job was one that was provided through a temp agency because I only need  part time job through the summer until graduate school and full-time teaching happen) to get advice about my incompetent supervisor.  I was advised to talk to her personally to work out the matter.

I determined that I would go back to work and try to make it through. I pull into the store at noon and her vehicle still isn’t there. I wait a few minutes and then I call her directly. I let her know I’ve been waiting on her for over an hour, to which her response (I can NOT make this stuff up!) is “Well EXCUUUSEEE me!” I was literally shocked–for a few reasons–TO START, she is a GROWN WOMAN!! A GROWN ADULT WOMAN. I literally called to make peace and come to an understanding and was met with animosity, ignorance and unprofessionalism. (Which is her MO, so I don’t know why I’m so shocked.) I explained to her calmly that I wasn’t being rude, meanwhile she is yelling over top of me “THINGS COME UP!… YOU HAVE NO IDEA!… EXCUSE ME FOR BEING AN HOUR LATE!… YOU DON’T HAVE TO MAKE UP THOSE HOURS!…..” My response was as it was before, calm and collected. I tried to explain to her that, indeed, I did need to make up those hours. I tried to reason with her and ask about working a shift a different day, because of the time wasted (an hour and a half at this point) today. She was still yelling incoherently “I HAD TO WORK 18 HOURS ON SATURDAY (Hello! This is Monday!!) YOU JUST HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT.” I’m still calmly in the background saying “I’m confused why you are talking to me this way. I’m not being rude to you at all. I simply told you that I’ve been waiting for over an hour….” CLICK

Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh….Someone PLEASE explain to me what just happened.

The Over-zealous, scripture slinging, judgment passing, sin admonishing, don’t-want-to-lose-my-Christian-witness-so-I-better-walk-away, Boss HUNG UP ON ME.

Lemme just tell you…She done LOST her Christian witness today, buddy. DONE. LOST. IT. (She lost it a long time ago, but she’s just confused.) She’s also well on her way to losing her ever-loving mind, but hey, one issue at a time.

Either way, I go back to the temp agency (in tears) feeling ridiculous, to explain to the women the outcome of “talking to her calmly about the issues at hand”. I explain to them the issues I’ve had not just today, but all summer. This is where things get funny. The woman behind the desk literally removed sticky note from her desk drawer and picked up her pen as she said “I’m sorry, she said what?!”

I repeated my previous statement with the driest cynicism I could muster. “She told me that her business is failing because her workers have unconfessed  sin in their lives and that is why God isn’t blessing her business.” I followed up the sentence with an eye roll so dramatic that I caused an earth quake and a face I imagined looked something like this:

eye-roll

I wish you could have seen the look the lady’s face. Her exact words were “Oh my ‘Lantis” and she scribbled down what I had said. She kept saying “I am just blown away. I just don’t even have words. This is the craziest thing I’ve ever heard.”

So, here I sit, jobless. Conflicted over being a quitter and literally feeling entirely justified.

All I know is this:

THE. WORST.JOB. EVER. ended today. And, In the words of The (ex) Boss—–AMEN.

Anything You Want To Share?

