Go Now and Leave Your Life of Sin

Some scripture that is speaking pretty clearly to me tonight…

John 8:11–After the woman who was found guilty of committing adultery is brought before Jesus to be stoned.  He told them that whoever hadn’t sinned could throw the first stone.  Every last man disappeared.  Jesus asked her “Has no one condemned you?”  When she answers no, this is the sweetest response Jesus could have given.

He says to her, “Then neither do I condemn you.”  And then this–This spoke to my very core.

GO NOW AND LEAVE YOUR LIFE OF SIN. 

And that right there is how Jesus works.

Mark 7:6–When Jesus witnesses the Pharisees practicing in rituals before they eat he tells them that they are hypocrites.  “These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me.  They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men.”  It’s too easy to fall into this ritualistic behavior and then go into the world looking just like it.  I’m guilty.  I struggle.  There are times no one could tell me apart from anyone else.  This spoke to me.  I don’t ever want to be guilty of this scripture.  I don’t want my worship to be in vain.

Mark 5:34–There is a woman who had been bleeding for many many years.  She had spent all of her money and had seen several doctors without any relief.  She knew that if she just touched Jesus’ cloak she would be healed.  When she touched him and was healed, Jesus wanted to know who touched him.  The woman approached him afraid, but she told him everything.  His response to her, I can’t explain the feelings it gives me.  Mostly because he calls her daughter.  “Daughter, your faith has healed you.  Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”

I have several prayers tonight.   As I am sorting through all of the messages I received this weekend, I want to hear God’s voice.  I want to recognize him talking to me.  I also want to have faith that is strong enough that I can be freed from my suffering.  I want my faith to be strong enough that I can “Go and leave my life of sin”.

Anything You Want To Share?

