God Answers Prayer, Even When I’m a Butthole

So this journey is an interesting thing.  One that gets haphazardly posted on this blog from time to time.  Generally after I have spent a week or so in a mental or spiritual battle and God sorts me out and puts me back on holy ground.  God answers prayer. He does. And he does it even when I’m a butthole. (*GASP* Am I allowed to say butthole on a Christian blog??) Yes. And I just did.  For good reason, too, because I meant what I said.  God answers prayer!  He answers and he will show you his grace time and time and time again.

So, tonight, I want to showcase how awesome God has been to me.  I am constantly reminded of the woman who had been bleeding for 12 years and sees Jesus walking past and touches the bottom of his cloak.  She believed if she could just touch the bottom of his cloak that she would be healed.  In this moment, Jesus could have done so many things.  He could have been annoyed that someone was tugging at his clothing and scolded her.  He could have ignored her completely, because after all, he was on a very important mission to go cure a dead girl.  He could have rolled his eyes.  He could have even sent someone else to talk to her instead.  You know what happened?  He spoke directly to her.  He showed her compassion.  He gave his time.  AND he called her daughter. Daughter.  How sweet is that?  We serve a God who knows the innermost wants of our heart a soul.  He knows the longings.  He understands the desires.

It is interesting to me that this story stands out so much when it is literally only a small snippet in scripture.  Either way, tonight, God has answered prayer for me and given me confirmation.  I am praising him for it!  I am thankful for it!  I am comforted because I know that even when I am a butthole, he is not.

Matthew 9:20-22
Just then a woman who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak.  She said to herself “If I only touch his cloak, I will be healed.”  Just turned and saw her.  “Take heart, daughter,” he said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed from that moment.

Anything You Want To Share?

