A Longing

For about a week now, I have felt this longing to read my Bible. It’s always interesting when that happens.  It’s generally when I know it’s been way too long.  This time, the realization is no different.  It has been way too long.  I can’t remember the last time I sat down with my Bible at all.

So, I sat down a few minutes ago and just opened the Bible.  It opened to Deuteronomy and the verses that I read were about giving the Lord the firstfruits of the land that was given to the people.  Really, for me it was a reminder that what I have is all because of who Christ is.  I’ll be honest, I’m not entirely sure what God wants me to read or what he wants me to write.  I just want to be sure I am documenting my feelings and experiences for future reference.

The second scripture I read was in Mark chapter 12, specifically when the Sadducees came to Jesus asking about marriage after death.  I went on to read about The Greatest Commandment.  These scriptures are something I will spend a lot of time on in the near future.  “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: Hear O Israel, the Lord our God, The Lord, is one.  Love the Lord you God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  The second is this: Love you neighbor as yourself.  There is no commandment greater than these.” 

 

Anything You Want To Share?

